daily californian logo


Welcome to the (March) Madness! Read more here

2022 NFL MVP finalists

article image


We're an independent student-run newspaper, and need your support to maintain our coverage.

JANUARY 27, 2023

The Associated Press released the finalists for the 2022 NFL Most Valuable Player Award: Josh Allen, Patrick Mahomes, Justin Jefferson, Jalen Hurts and Joe Burrow. The MVP of the previous two seasons, former Cal GOAT, Aaron Rodgers isn’t on this list after a dreadful season resulting in 26 touchdowns in 12 interceptions.

If this season proved anything, it cemented that Patrick Mahomes is still levels above any and every other player in the NFL. Mahomes faced adversity this season after losing his speedy wideout, Tyreek Hill. The two connected on 331 catches for 4,638 yards and 46 touchdowns during 58 games as teammates in Kansas City.

Mahomes nearly matched his 2018 MVP season numbers this year with 41 touchdowns and 12 interceptions. His historic 2018 season tallied 50 TDs and 12 interceptions.

Nevertheless, Mahomes is the favorite to win the second NFL MVP award of his career after leading the Chiefs to a 14-3 record and seventh consecutive AFC West title. The Kansas City gunslinger is one of the most talented quarterbacks to ever grace the gridiron — expect the accolades and hardware to pile up as his career continues.

If it wasn’t for a late-season injury, the conversation would’ve surrounded Jalen Hurts, potentially winning his first MVP. Hurts was dealing for the Eagles through 15 games played, including 22 touchdown passes and just six interceptions.

Hurts balled out through the air and on his feet, tallying over 3,700 passing yards and over 700 rushing yards. Hurts elevated his game this season, and it resulted in a 14-3 regular season record for the Eagles.

Up next, enter Joe “Shiesty” Burrow, the quarterback for the Cincinnati Bengals. When he’s not celebrating post big-game wins with a cigar, he’s lighting up opposing teams with star wideout Ja’Marr Chase.

Burrow racked up 35 passing touchdowns for the Bengals while only throwing 12 interceptions. The 2022 No. 1 overall pick is an elite quarterback, but 2022 still belongs to Patrick Mahomes, at least statistically.

If this column was about the fantasy football MVP, then Josh Allen would be atop the list, but that’s just not the case. Allen and his “bazooka” arm blasted 35 touchdown passes in Ken Dorsey’s air raid offense. For those interested, Allen is also only one of two quarterbacks in Madden 22 to have the “bazooka” ability.

The former Wyoming quarterback is a dual threat of the highest order, and in 2022 he ran for 762 yards and seven touchdowns on the ground. Nevertheless, Allen likely won’t win an MVP this season, but he sure came close in 2020, as he finished second in voting behind Aaron Rodgers.

Last, but not least, superstar wide receiver of the Minnesota Vikings, Justin Jefferson. At 24-years-old, the man they call “Jets” is the youngest potential 2022 NFL MVP candidate on this list.

It’s always tough for non-quarterbacks to win an MVP. The last to do so was another former Viking standout running back, Adrian Peterson in 2012. The numbers aren’t in Jefferson’s favor, as no wide receiver has ever won an MVP award.

MVP or not, “Jets” deserves his flowers after leading the league in numerous receiving categories. Jefferson amassed the most receptions with 128, ranking seventh most of all time in a single season. Jefferson added 1,809 receiving yards in 2022, which was only 156 yards shy of breaking Calvin Johnson’s 2012 single-season record.

Jefferson’s ability to run crispy routes and create separation warrants him as one of the best playmakers in the league.

The 2022 NFL MVP will be announced on Feb. 9.

Contact Matthew Corey Flores at 


JANUARY 27, 2023