California Gov. Gavin Newsom announced Wednesday that workers who contract COVID-19 while on the job may be eligible to receive workers’ compensation.
Workers who test positive or who are diagnosed and confirmed positive for COVID-19 within 14 days of working outside their homes during the stay-at-home order will have “rebuttable presumption,” an assumption of fact accepted by courts until disproved, which will allow them to access compensation benefits, according to a press release. The presumption will stay in place for 60 days after the executive order is issued.
“We are removing a burden for workers on the front lines, who risk their own health and safety to deliver critical services to our fellow Californians,” Newsom said in the press release. “Workers’ compensation is a critical piece to reopening the state and it will help workers get the care they need to get healthy, and in turn, protect public health.”
Newsom also signed an executive order that waives penalties on residential and small business property taxes paid after April 10 through May 6, 2021, for taxpayers who demonstrate financial hardship due to the COVID-19 pandemic. The order also extends the deadline to file a Business Personal Property Statement to May 31 to avoid penalties.